2014 Goals

Since we are officially into the second quarter of 2014, I think its long past time I define my goals for this year.

Some are debt related, others are life related. All in all, its good clean fun!

Money Goals

1. Say Goodnight to $19,000 of my Student Loans. In Q1, I paid off $7282 with my back up emergency fund and tax refund. To hit $19k, I’ll need to average just over $1300/month for the rest of the year. That amount would eliminate 3 of my loans and put a small debt in the fourth.

2. Quarter Max my Roth IRA ($1375). I maxed out my Roth IRA last year and would love to again this year, but Debt is priority one. While I say that, I don’t want to neglect my future self, so I’ve made this my stretch goal for this year.  I feel that $1375 is enough to feel like I’m building my retirement savings, but also not enough to feel like I’ve abandoned my whole hearted approach to debt repayment.

3. Build a $2000 Emergency Fund. Slow and steady to win this race.

Health Goals

1. Work out at least 12x per month. Since the new year and the gym rush, I’ve been slacking a lot on my fitness goals. While I haven’t gained, I also haven’t lost anything either. 12x should be enough to get me back on track. I also expect some serious outdoor walking time over the next 6 months.

2. Complete my First 5k! I’ve always wanted to be a runner and my body has always fought me kicking and screaming. I finally feel like I’m in shape enough to commit to a training plan and I would love this year to be the year. There is a race I’ve got my eye on in September. Time to get focused!

3. Eat Clean-er. I have a pretty nasty dairy intolerance and my eating could be much better. I’d love to avoid all dairy and eat as much non-processed foods as possible. For some reason, I tend to do really well with this from September to December and then I fall off the wagon. Its time to do better. I’m not quite sure how I’m going to track this one. I’m sure I’ll think of something 🙂

Random Goals

1. Take a pre-paid Road Trip. Husband and I have the travel bug really bad. To prevent it from completely taking over all of our thoughts where we impulsively book a trip to New Zealand, we are in the midst of planning a 10-day road trip around the Great Lakes. We have a lot of fun stuff in mind, the cost won’t be too high and it will all be saved and paid for before we leave.

2. Learn more about Canada. Love you USA, but you’ve done a horrible job teaching me about anything outside our borders. Sadly, my knowledge of Canada up to this point is limited to two short visits, Ice Road Truckers, Rob Ford and Trailer Park Boys. America’s Hat deserves better.

3. Read 10 books. 2013 was a big reading year for me. Probably my best ever. My initial plan for this year was much higher (16 I think?), but it’s April and I don’t even have 1 under my belt. Oh for shame! If I harness it, I have 40 minutes of reading time during my commute. If I can manage do to that, this should be easy peasy.

How are you doing with your goals? Are you making progress? Do you have any fun facts about Canada?

 

6 comments

  1. Bahaha, your description of Canada is hilarious. But I feel like it’s fairly accurate 😉

    Facts about Canada (probably not that fun!):
    – Canada Post claims Santa Claus is Canadian, and every year they volunteer to answer letters addressed to “Santa Claus, The North Pole, HOH OHO”… maybe letters come from other parts of the world as well?
    – We have a heck of a lot of water! About 10% of the world’s renewable water.
    – We have the most oil reserves in the world (more than the Middle East and Russia).
    – Over half the country is covered in forests… our population is only about 35 million in the second biggest country in the world. We’re resource-rich!
    – We have the highest tides in the world in the Bay of Fundy.
    – Lacrosse is the other national sport aside from hockey.

    I am sure there are lots of quirks/differences that I don’t even know because they’re just normal to me 🙂

Leave a Reply

