April 2014 Recap

Hello April! Goodbye April!

April was a frustrating month, at least weather wise. There have been a few bright days, but its mostly been a cold, rain/snow mix. Toward the end of the month, it started to feel like Spring and I was excited to get out of the house and enjoy it. My area has excellent biking trails and I was looking forward to exploring them. I picked up my bike from my parents house…. and it has rained every day since. Bummer.

If you haven’t read, I published my 2014 goals this month. My stretch goal this year is to Quarter Max my Roth IRA. Prior to setting my goals, I was contributing $58/month… I have no idea why $58. I’m sure I had some logical reason at the time! To reach my goal, $58 was not enough, so I bumped it up to $140/month. Then I actually added the money to my account!

One of my other goals for the year was to complete a 5k. I’ve upped the ante. I was given the opportunity to run one of the most popular (and most difficult to enter) 10 mile road races in my area. 10 miles is a LONG way, but I think I can do it. Even if I can’t, I’m sure going to try. To run 10 miles, I’ve committed to 3 – 5ks.  The first one is Memorial Day weekend! Eek! There is a lot of running in my future.

As for debt repayment, April was another big month. But the extra bigness is due to a technicality. I get paid on the last day of the month and I’ve been overcomplicating how I should deal with it. Some months, like this month, I’m on top of my business and I’m able to shift money from my check to my loans on payday. Other months, like last month, I’m not quite so on top of things and the payment is made in the next calendar month. My delayed transfer effectively gave me three paychecks this month. My debt repayment number is high as a result.

I guess my enthusiasm for getting rid of these beasts is stronger than my desire to have consistent debt payments every month.

Oh well.

Debt Progress

End of March Debt: $38,650

End of April Debt: $34,985

That’s $3665 paid off this month!

Someone find me a mountain top. I want to scream from it! I OWE LESS THAN $35,000! That is such a sweet, sweet milestone.  It’s amazing what reckless abandon can do for paying down debt. Throwing every penny I can find at it sure does seem to be doing the trick.

We’ll see if I can keep up this pace. Doubt it, but I might as well enjoy it while I can!

How was your April?

7 comments

  1. Way to go, Kate!!! Almost 4k toward debt – wow!!! Keep up the great work. 🙂 And I’m totally impressed with your goal of running 10 miles. I’m sure you can do it.

  2. That is an amazing amount! Using that extra money is huge. Congratulations.

    I’m also working on putting more money to my (brand new) Roth. I had a pros and cons kind of April: made a huge payment to my student loans, racked up some travel-related credit card charges, made a little side hustle income to put towards the Roth…. Mostly positive overall, I think, with a few things to keep a closer eye on going forward.

  3. Nicely done! That’s a huge chunk of debt gone, and nice to be under the milestone of $35k.

    My April was bizarre, but it all ended up being okay financially by the very end. I didn’t love the stress in the meantime though 🙂

Leave a Reply

