June 2014 Recap

The Fourth of July has come and gone, and THAT is a bit alarming. July 4th is typically seen as the halfway point through summer, but after this past winter, I’m going to need at LEAST another 6 months before I’m ready for snow again.  Why can’t summer drag on like winter does? hmmm.

June was a good month for me. The Hubs and I were out and about for much of the month. We saw several comedy shows and attended an elite bicycle race (as spectators of course!). We spent 3 days at the bicycle race and I really enjoyed learning more about the sport. There is so much more to it than just “pedal like the dickens.”

Another big thing that happened in June was Hubs finally took charge of his medical situation. His back has been a major pain and our first attempt to fix it was to get him some new orthotic shoe inserts. It has been a bit of a learning curve for him to get used to these new inserts, but its going to help him in the long run. There has been a noticeable change in his demeanor now that we’ve taken care of his feet.

Summer is getting us up and out of the house. We’ve been able to find a lot of free or nearly free things to do in our area. There are a lot of free festivals, art fairs and random parks/walking trails to explore. The biggest budget buster has been due to the fact as we are out of the house from dawn until well past dusk, we are eating out a lot during the weekends. I guess you take the cheap entertainment with the spendy food options.

Money in June was good. Nothing grand, nothing meager.

I’ve settled into my smaller paychecks due to my increased HSA contribution.  Hubs was house sitting for 2 weeks in June and for that he was rewarded with a small chunk of change. This certainly helped keep the monthly loan contribution up.

…. and the numbers are…..

Debt Progress

End of May Debt: $33,036

End of June Debt: $31,307

That’s $1729 paid off this month!

By this time next month, there will be a big number 2 at the beginning of my debt. That’s so cool I can barely handle it. It’s crazy to me that 6 months ago, there was a big number four leading the charge.

Also, my smallest of the 3 remaining loans is almost gone. I have $2790 remaining. I should have that paid off by the end of August!

Debt repayment becomes much more fun when I’ve got major milestones within reach.

Debt repayment is also fun when it is full of fun facts. For example– The number 1729 is divisible by the sum of its digits.

1 + 7 + 2 + 9 = 19

1729/19 = 91

19 x 91 = 1729

According to Wikipedia, 1729 has another mildly interesting property: the 1729th decimal place is the beginning of the first occurrence of all ten digits consecutively in the decimal representation of e.

I’m a math geek. I don’t expect you to appreciate my nerdiness 🙂

How did you do in June? Do you have any major milestones coming up?

6 comments

  1. That’s a great milestone – to be under 30k! My big milestone that I hope to hit this money is to have a (negative) net worth in the 4 digits rather than 5. I’m getting closer to zero 🙂

    1. Going from negative 5 to negative 4 is a great milestone! It’ll be negative 3 in no time. Its kinda cool how saving and paying down debt are a double whammy to boost your networth.

  2. Congrats on getting under 30k. Also, I’m glad to hear your hubby started taking action with regard to his back. I struggle with back pain every day, so I can imagine how much relief he’s got to feel just knowing that there’s a solution and he’s on track! Have a good one!

  3. Milestones in your sights are so much fun! I don’t have any big ones coming up (closest is paying off my credit card debt, which I think will be in November) but I just had a couple of big ones in June — paying off my student loans and achieving positive net worth. It’s super.

    Good luck to your husband! Back pain is scary.

Leave a Reply

