A Versatile Blogger!

A Versatile Blogger? me? How fun!

I was nominated for the Versatile Blogger award by Mel over at BrokeGirlRich and A-Lee-Sha at Financial Diffraction. Thanks Ladies! The Versatile Blogger Award is a bit of a chain letter. I’ll share 7 fun facts about me and then pass along the love.

Here we go!

1. I’m in the closet

No one in my real life knows I have this blog. Not even my husband.  I’m not sure what he thinks I’m doing on my computer all the time, probably that I’m hopelessly addicted to Facebook.  I’ll likely tell him in the next few months.  I expect my blogging to amp up when the temperature goes down!

2. I’m a knitter!

I’ve been knitting since I was a kid but have tried to challenge myself in the last 5 or so years. I’ve made several sweaters, shawls, mittens and other goodies. I made these 🙂

Chevron Mittens

I’m in a bit of a rut lately though. I put myself on a Yarn Freeze when I graduated to knit through my stash and I haven’t been inspired by my stash. I’m sure I’ll pick it back up eventually.

3.  I’m Smaller.

I’ve lost 55 lbs from my highest weight, 25 of those were lost in the last year. At my highest weight in 2007, I was so big for my body that my mobility was greatly limited. I missed several days of school that year because I physically couldn’t walk. I’ve still got about 20-25 lbs to go, but gosh it feels amazing to have a body that functions as a body should.

4. My family doesn’t know what to call me. 

Being born a Katherine, it was really hard for me to find a name that I identified with. There were so many derivatives of Katherine in my class at school, I just felt lost in the group. I’ve been Katie, Kayla, Charlotte (wtf), Kati and now Kate. I switched to Kate when I started law school as a fresh start (and probably the best fit). When I get cards or written correspondence from family, they typically just guess at what I’m going by now. Last week, I got card addressed to Katy.

5.  I speak in quotes.

Whether it’s a movie quote or a line from a comic, my words quickly slip into quoting what someone else said. I love it when I enter a situation in life that was referenced in a comedian’s routine. Dane Cook, Brian Regan and several local comics are referenced regularly. Blues Brothers, Jim Carrey movies and most Disney flicks are fair game.

6. There was a sale on sisters

I am one of 5 children and one of 4 girls in the family. It is pretty amazing how different all 4 of the girls are while still being so similar. We are pretty spread out in age, but its cool to see how no matter what we all come back together like glue when we need to.

7. Roll with the Changes

I love music, but I’m horrible about finding new songs or artists. I typically just find one or two songs and listen to them at least 1000 times. Recent favorites include Some Nights from Fun and Defying Gravity from Wicked. My over the top favorite is Roll with the Changes by REO Speedwagon. It has been my favorite song since 2001 and I listen to it all the time. My love for it is unhealthy. Heck, I even walked up the aisle to it(after I was pronounced a married woman) at my wedding.

Now I nominate…

Waffles at No More Waffles

Steve at Kapitalust

Sarah at Add Vodka

Jordann at My Alternate Life

and You! If you haven’t been officially nominated, consider this your in! You can even contact me and I’ll add your name to the post! That makes it extra super duper official.

11 comments

  1. Yay, I love getting to know more about other bloggers, which is why I nominated you! 🙂

    Honestly, I don’t know how you keep your blogging hidden from your husband! My fiance would be like “Why are you typing so much? Facebook is just creeping, not typing!” But he’s the only one who knows I have a blog – plus, he set up all the back-end technical stuff for me.

    Congrats on the great weight loss progress you’ve made! Isn’t it awesome how great it feels to not feel “weighed down” by our bodies, which are meant to do amazing things. I’ve been there – I did my first 5k a few years ago and I was just astounded at what I could do once I set my mind to making my body work properly!

    Also, I’m sort of envious of having built in nicknames, even if you had too many variations. My friends and family all just dropped a syllable or two from my name because there wasn’t anything to call me. When I got to be about 15, my then-boyfriend called me Ali, but that never stuck after we broke up 🙂 So I’m just A-Lee-Sha.

    1. Thanks lady!
      I do most of my writing in the morning after he goes to work and then I edit at night. I also don’t write very much. Look at my posting schedule! It’s sparse!
      I’ve been slacking on my health lately and I really need to get back into it. I was thinking of creating a PF health challenge. Maybe maybe?
      I’m not sure if you should be envious of my nicknames. These are only the official ones. My family is aggressively excessive with nicknames. Each of the children in my family have at least 50 nicknames that we answer to. So confusing.

  2. So glad you shared! I blogged for about three months before I told my husband. And even then, I didn’t really want to tell him, but I wanted to start freelancing and I knew I’d need some help 🙂

  3. I do enjoy some Wicked myself. And Fun always reminds me of my quarter life crisis – but it’s still really good music.

    I learned how to crochet years ago, but never practiced much, so my ability is still pretty lousy. I get like 10 rows in and give up… I’m pretty sure I’ve never finished a single scarf. I usually mess up a stitch, get confused about how to fix it and give up.

    1. I may have been in a quarter life crisis when I LOVED it. Now I just love it, mostly for the drums.

      You know more about crocheting than me! I’ve tried to learn, but I always fall back on knitting.

  4. Haha I might have to take you up on that. I haven’t been nominated yet, so I’m glad you added that at the end 😉 So crazy your husband doesn’t know you blog! I talk about my blog too much to not tell my wife. If I tried to do that in the beginning I might have lasted a day or two.

  5. Congratulations on your award! I enjoyed reading more about you Kate. I’m amazed that you’ve managed to keep your blog away from your husband so far, especially with the amount of time it can take to publish a post. I’m sure he’d love it if he knew about it!

Leave a Reply

