2014 Goals– September Update

Did you remember to wake up when September ends? I hope you did. My birthday is at the end of September and I consider it a national holiday… if only in my world! Celebrate people!

Okay… back to business.

Back in April, I wrote up my goals for what I’d like to achieve in 2014. Being 75% of the way through the year, it was high time I check in on how things are coming along. I better be getting close to the finish line!

Here is how I am doing at the end of September!

Money Goals

1. Say Goodnight to $19,000 of my Student Loans. PASS!

Here’s a break down of what I’ve thrown at my student loans thus far.

Dec 2013- $525.86 (My first payment!)

Q1- $7282.36

Q2- $7564.82

Q3- $6332.87

Total: $21,705.91 

I was a bit surprised to see that my Q3 payments were lower than Q1 or Q2. But when I looked at the events of the last 3 months, I’m not surprised. The only extra money in the last 3 months was my renter’s refund. I used that to make up for cash-flowing the trip. So essentially, there was no extra money.

In addition to no extra money, I had smaller paychecks due to my HSA. My HSA is growing nicely, but I don’t have access to those dollars. Come back my dollars!

My debt is down to $25,485. Thats a total of $19,845 paid off!

First Goal: Achieved! I made it!

My first stretch goal was $23,000. To reach that, I’ll need to pay off an additional $3155 or $1052/month.  No sweat.

I set a second stretch goal of $25,000. This would result in a January 1, 2015 balance of less than or equal to $20,330. That’s $5155 over the next quarter or $1719/month. My monthly average is running higher than this, so if all goes as planned, I’ll make it.

So for a bit of a challenge…

I set a third stretch goal of only bringing 1 loan with me into 2015.  To do this, I’ll need to pay off ~$25,400. I want this. I want this real bad. Come to mama. (Did this just get weird?)

First Stretch Goal: $23,000

SECOND Stretch Goal: $25,000

THIRD Stretch Goal: 1 Loan Left!

2. Quarter Max my Roth IRA ($1375).  PASS!

I added another $585 to my Roth IRA this quarter. I’ve contributed $975 so far this year. Adding an additional $400 over the next 3 months shouldn’t be a problem.

3. Build a $2000 Emergency Fund. EVEN

As I mentioned last quarter, I shifted my focus for my savings. I’ve got $1000 in my emergency fund and $1000 saved for my car. Happy news is that I haven’t had to use any of it!

Health Goals

1. Work out at least 12x per monthEVEN

Nope. I didn’t log the necessary gym trips over the last three months, but I have been really active. Hubs estimates that we walked at least 100 miles in the UK. I’ve been really good about going to yoga each week and that is making me and my body happy and healthy.

2. Complete my First 5k! PASS! 

I had my final 5k of the year in the last week of September. The weather was perfect, the course was gorgeous, the leaves were in full glory and I set a new personal record! Win, win, win, win!

3. Eat Clean-er. PASS

I’ve been much better about my eating over the last 3 months. Not the best, but certainly better. I’ve impressed myself with how I’ve been able to think ahead with what I eat– not only in the planning department, but also in the “how did this make me feel the last time I ate it?” category. Most food makes me sick, so I’ve been good about sticking to the safe foods.

Random Goals

1. Take a pre-paid Road Trip. FAIL!

No road trip, but the UK was amazing. Check out my budget! I am a budgeting master!

2. Learn more about Canada. EVEN

I still lack a formal Canadian education, but I’ve kept my ears and eyes open to what’s going on. Vancouver keeps inching its way up the travel list so I’m sure the Canada/Vancouver books will be making it into my home eventually.

3. Read 10 books. PASS!

NINE! I’m at NINE! That means I have 3 whole months to read 1 more book.

I went on a bit of a Jodi Picoult binge this quarter. I read Salem Falls, House Rules and the Storyteller. Of the three, the Storyteller was my favorite. I highly recommend it.

I tried to read Julie and Julia, but I gave up on it after I was half way through.

After my trip and an awesome visit to Platform 9 3/4 I decided to read the Harry Potter series. I read the first book around when it came out, but I never finished any of the other ones.  I’m a little more than a third of the way through the first book. I’m enjoying it much more than I remember!

_______________________

Having goals and checking up on them has been fun! I’ve really enjoyed reflecting on what I thought I’d do and seeing how life is changing. I’ve never been a goal setter or a goal follow-upper. I like this new change in me. It’s very adult.  🙂

Here’s to Q4!

Does re-reading HP1 count as a book? Are you on track with your goals?

7 comments

  1. Great job on crushing those goals, Kate! I like that you also pay attention to your health and general well-being.

    I hope you enjoyed your birthday! I mean national holiday. 😉

    Keep it up,
    NMW

Leave a Reply

