I’m ignoring my debt.

You read that right. For at least the next three months, I’ll be ignoring my debt.

No more running the numbers.

No more calculations.

No more logging in to my account just to look at the balance.

None of it.

I may even pretend I don’t have any student loan debt.

Why?

I’ve lost sight of the big picture.

I had a post scheduled for today that outlined my new accelerated goal for paying off my loans by September 2015. My 29th birthday. How fun. To do that, I’d need to pay on average $2200/month for the next year. I got so hopeful.

Then life happened. I found out my paychecks will be lower next year due to a shift in payroll and Hubs and I will owe on our taxes next spring.

Then I lost my mind.

I spent the next few days obsessing over the numbers. I couldn’t think of anything else. Even though I know I need to cut my expenses and increase my income to get where I want to be, I was paralyzed by my numbers to do anything about it. I couldn’t even put a stupid ad online offering my tutoring services.

Yes, I want to pay off my debt quickly. Minimizing the interest by paying them off extra super quick is pretty cool too. But I’m not learning what I need to learn from this experience.

I’ve developed an obsession and what I’m doing isn’t healthy. I think telling Hubs about this blog gave me permission to think about my debt constantly, talk about it constantly and run the numbers constantly. So I did.

My goal for this blog is to “learn to deal with money like an adult.” I’m not doing that.

To put a stop to this madness, I’m putting myself on a Debt Detox.

Don’t worry. I’ll still be around and post monthly updates. Twitter has become my favorite, so you’ll likely see me there. Who knows, I may even be more inspired to write if I’m not obsessing about numbers.

One thing is for sure– I’m looking forward to doing and thinking about other things.

13 comments

  1. Been there, done that. It’s all well and good to plan and make goals, but if you get stuck in the spreadsheet cycle, you’re just focusing on it past the point you can control really. It wouldn’t be a bad idea to join you on this 🙂 I’ve been on autopilot for a few months in the past and it was way more freeing and less stressful.

    See ya on twitter!

  2. I feel like this is something I should do as well. I update and play around with my spreadsheets EVERYDAY and feel like I am obsessed with my numbers!

  3. Yep, I get stuck in that too, especially if things aren’t going well. I spend less time at it now that I am blogging, but still. I think if I can limit it to my monthly updates, then that’s reasonable. Good luck on your detox

  4. Oh, this so has happened to me over the last six months — I knew it and I let it happen because I also knew it had a close-up time limit; my debt wasn’t very high by the time I started getting spreadsheet-obsessed. But if I’d been facing a longer time frame, I think I would have been more worried, and I think you’re totally right to take time away from thinking about it a lot. Good luck refocusing your energy!

  5. Honestly? I think sometimes (especially PF bloggers) get WAY too much into the numbers. Yes, getting out of debt is good and savings is great. But. And this is a big BUT… Life happens. It’s unrealistic to expect high intensity of ANYTHING at a prolonged rate. Just as long as you’re not increasing your debt dramatically and unnecessarily and will be putting motions to pay down debt, that’s a pretty good effort compared to other people.

  6. I love that you posted this. I think a lot of us get caught up in the numbers and our spreadsheets. Since making the move to freelancing, I’ve had to pay the minimums and it’s been killing me a little bit inside. It’s easy to look at others who are paying off their debt at a crazy speed and want to emulate that, but it’s not always possible (financially or mentally). Enjoy the break!

Leave a Reply

