Week 1: Health & Wealth Challenge

I jumped onboard Tonya’s Health and Wealth Challenge over at Budget and the Beach. The rules of her challenge are:

Health:

  1. Exercise for at least 10 minutes 5x/week
  2. Create one new healthy habit

Wealth:

  1. Find a new way to make or save money.

When I jumped into the challenge, I didn’t really have a plan. I was committed to working out because that is what I do this time of year. What I needed was the push to hustle. I am a horrible hustler.

Without a plan, here is how I did!

HEALTH

1. Exercise for at least 10 minutes 5x/week. WIN!

4 proper gym workouts

  • 3 weight lifting days
  • 1 yoga workout (I strongly discourage wearing a watch during yoga. Holy uncomfortable! Oh the things I do to get a baseline calorie burn!)

2 improper? workouts

On two of the days I didn’t make it to the gym, I went for a brisk walk at work. Both walks were approximately 25 minutes.

2. Create a new healthy habit FAIL?

Oops! I didn’t read the challenge carefully. I didn’t see this one until drafting this.  I’ll pick two for next week.

WEALTH

New Money

  1. Sold 4 boxes to Half Price Books = $13
  2. Found $40 at home. I figured it would do more good on my loans.
  3. Put 3 books up on Amazon. 1 sold. After Amazon fees, I netted a cool $3.50
  4. I ventured into the world of Swagbucks. I’m saving for $25 paypal cash, but I have enough equal to about $7.50. Not too bad for idle time over the last week. If you are interested in joining Swagbucks, click here for my referral code.

Saving Money

  1. I got 4 tickets to see the hot new art exhibit in town. The tickets were free through my work. 4 x $16 = $64
  2. There was a silent auction at work and I spent $42 to win a $50 Target gift card. Now I must spend my gift card wisely. Savings: $8.

New Money Total: $64    Saving Money Total: $72     Total:  $136

Hey hey! Not too bad! My two biggest savings should be one-offs. I won’t have access to anymore free tickets for a month or two and my house isn’t filled with cash. Bummer 😉

Goals for next week:

  1. No pop.
  2. 1 min plank every day.
  3. Lower my internet bill.

Cheers to a healthy and wealthy new week!

Did you join the challenge? Do you have any after work side hustle ideas?

Leave a Reply

