2014 Goals– End of Year Update

Back in April, I wrote up my goals for what I’d like to achieve in 2014. Now is the time for me to wrap them all up nicely in a bow and present my progress.

Money Goals

1. Say Goodnight to $19,000 of my Student Loans. PASS!

Here’s a break down of what I paid to FedLoan Servicing over the last year (ish).

Dec 2013- $525.86 (My first payment!)

  • Q1- $7282.36
  • Q2- $7564.82
  • Q3- $6332.87
  • Q4- $9919.00 <– whoa!

Total: $ 31,624.90

I find it a little curious that the rest of my debt tracking is based off how much I reduced the principal, and this tracks how much I actually paid. Apparently, I got a little number happy and just wanted to track everything. Also curious is that I screwed up my minimum payment in my recap post. 52525 is way more fun than 52586. Clearly, that extra $0.61 wasn’t important.

Of the $31,624, $2,202 was interest. Therefore, I’ve paid off $29,442 since I started my journey!

I exceeded my goal by over $10,000. *dance party*

2. Quarter Max my Roth IRA ($1375).  PASS!

I contributed $1457 this year! I have until April 15, 2015 to contribute for 2014. I may push myself to get to Half Max ($2750) before the cut off date.

3. Build a $2000 Emergency Fund. FAIL!

Fail. Fail. Fail. My savings accounts are the lowest they’ve ever been in my adult life. I may have had more money saved while I was in elementary school. I need to stop this. An emergency is going to hit me in the face and I’m not going to be ready for it.

Health Goals

1. Work out at least 12x per month. FAIL!

Nope.

2. Complete my First 5k! PASS! 

I ran three! How many races do I have to run to consider myself a runner?

3. Eat Clean-erFAIL!

This was not a good quarter for food. I pretty much gave up in December. To top it off, I ate a lot of cookies. The cookies were made with shortening. Yes, shortening.

Random Goals

1. Take a pre-paid Trip. PASS!

The UK was amazing. Check out my budget! I am a budgeting master!

2. Learn more about Canada. Pass.

Slowly but surely, I’m less embarrassed by how little I know about Canada. Through my Canadian blogger friends, I’m learning more and more about Canadian finance.

I’ve also been learning about the different regions and climates. For example: It’s bothering me to learn that where I live is colder than many parts of populated Canada. Somewhere along the way, I was brainwashed into thinking “Yes, it’s cold here, but it’s not Canada.” My tolerance for cold was built on a foundation of lies. How rude!

3. Read 10 books. PASS!

Things got very Harry Potter over the last quarter. Very Harry! After London, I started at the beginning with HP 1 and have made it all the way to HP 6!

In all, I read 15 books this year.  My favorites were The Storyteller by Jodi Picoult and Harry Potter: The Goblet of Fire. My least favorite was The Casual Vacancy by J.K. Rowling.

_______________________

Overall, mostly pass with a few fails. I’ll take it. By the end of 2014, my financial decisions were nearly entirely automated. I’d like to continue down this road leaving more mental room for personal improvements, specifically with my health.

Here’s to 2015!

How was your year? Did you reach your goals? Any book recommendations?

7 comments

  1. I’m still just in awe of how much debt you’ve trashed this year. I met my most important goal (pay off the debt) but didn’t make enough side hustle income to max out my Roth, as I’d wanted to. I got to 78% of my retirement goal, though, so not that awful.

Leave a Reply

