November 2015 Net Worth

Hi! I’m back!

13 whole days in Florida and the Caribbean and I’m back without a tan. My sun screen skillz are top notch. Hubs and my favorite part of the trip was at Coral World, a marine life park. We got to swim with sea lions, which was incredible, but we also got to see a hungry pack of iguanas. Have you ever seen 20+ 3 foot long iguanas chomping down on a pile of lettuce and tomato? Now you have 🙂

This post is brought to you by a hungry iguana infestation!

This post is brought to you by a hungry iguana infestation! Look at ’em!

This post is also incredibly late so I’ll just jump right into the numbers! But first, a flashback!

[flashback]

November 2014: I bought a car!! My net worth dropped $13,575 as a result. I still had $18,596 in student loans.

November 2013: For being unemployed, I sure went to a lot of comedy shows! Maybe I needed the laughs to keep my spirits up. My calendar says I went to see at least 7 different comedy shows, including Brian Regan (my favorite!), Tom Segura, Josh Blue and 4 local comedians. I have a comedy problem.

November 2015: What happens when I leave $$ alone

Screen Shot 2015-12-14 at 9.40.25 PM

Assets!

Retirement: $23,745 (+1,100)  If you were to imagine what a normal retirement saving month looked like, without any crazy gains or scary losses, this would be it. This month includes my recent bump to my 401k and normal IRA dollars. I checked yesterday and I only have 1 contribution left to my IRA for the year! Crazy, how the time flies when you are saving dollars.

Taxable: $8,485 I looked. It’s not pretty.  Here I am trying to appreciate my 16 year old saving self, and I keep losing money every update. It’s quite sad. 

Auto Value: $13,000  Valuing cars is stupid. I’m keeping this at $13,000 until the end of the year and then I’ll re-calculate. If anything happens to the car between now and then, I’ll also re-calculate. Recalculating, Recalculating. After that, I’ll update it every 6 months.

House Fund: $15,682 (+1,755) I see 15,000 reasons to be happy about this number. 682 extra reasons to do a dance. I’ve got less than $1000 to save to achieve Thing 1 by the end of the year! $771 in fact! We cashed flowed the vacation, so the first house fund contribution of the month was quite meager. I hope, I hope, I hope, I hope, I hope to achieve Thing 2 by the end of the year. Gosh darnit, if I can’t break into Thing 2 by the end of the year, I might boycott my own experiment. 

Round Two Progress: (What is Round Two? check here!)

  • Baby Saver: $2125 
  • Middle Saver: $7953 (Loan value: $5828) ✔
  • Thing 1: $16,453 (Loan value: $8500) >in progress<
    • Woot! $15,682 down, $771 to go!
  • Things 2: $24,953 (Loan value: $8500)
  • Big Momma: $45,330 (Loan value: $20,377)

HSA: $5,307 (+54)  The medical bills are here.I have a bill on the fridge that I’m waiting for the right mood to pay. By “right mood,” I’m spacing out paying the bills so they coincide with each round of paychecks. It’s taken 2 years to build up my HSA account and I’m doing everything I can not to see a monthly update in red. 

Car Fund: $275 (+50) This is fudging the numbers a bit, but by the time I checked this account after vacation, it had $300 in it. My heart welled with savings pride. I’m really saving! I’m not even messing with it!

Liabilities!

Student Loan: $0! Happy 8 months student loan free to me!

Car Loan: $9,096 (-$376)  This account is on auto payment, so I tend to forget about it. However, having it setting into 4 digits and about to break through $9000 has been fun. It’s a bit of a drag on my new worth, but at 1% interest, it feels like an effective use of money.

Overall:

  • Net worth: $57,398. Up $3,335 from last month. 

A solid increase for November. $3,335 sounds exactly like an old student loan payment amount, which is wonderful and the whole point here. I wanted to stay on track with the momentum I had before throwing everything at my loans. It’s nice to see that coming true.

  • Net worth increase: $129/day

I’m down a little bit for November, but this is still super excellent for the year.

How are you doing? Any big plans for the holidays?

13 comments

  1. This looks pretty awesome to me! It makes me feel inspired when I see updates like this from people who used to be in student loan debt — makes me think that perhaps I too could get to a post-debt point like this someday…
    On a related note, my first student loan payment will be due by the end of January. I’m super hoping that I have a job by then so I can start making aggressive payments. We’ll see!

    1. I’m glad to hear it inspires. I built a lot of good money habits while paying off my debt, and now everything is on auto-pilot. You’ll get there someday. Hopefully that someday is sooner rather than later.

      Good luck job searching. For what it’s worth, I didn’t get aggressive until ~3 months after I started paying on my loans. That first minimum payment hurts a little. You can totally do this.

  2. Yes! I am absolutely loving your iguana picture. You are correct in your question, I have never seen 20+ three foot long iguanas chomping down on lettuce & tomato! I hope you had an absolutely fantastic vacation. 🙂 You are crushing your house fund, way to go! Hope you have the happiest of holidays. 🙂

    1. I have more iguana pictures. I can send you more iguana pictures! At the Marine park where they were, I kept forgetting they were underfoot. I nearly stepped on a few of them, which is terrifying in itself. I’m not sure how I forgot I was surrounded by iguanas, but I did. Silly me.
      Vacation was wonderful. I’m excited to get my credit card bills paid off so I can crush the house fund even more.
      Happy Holidays to you too!

    1. Most PF post are sponsored by some financially interested company. Not around here. 🙂 Just hungry iguanas 🙂
      Thanks! I’m so close to tackling Thing 1. I can’t wait to get into a new savings bracket!

  3. Great job keeping the momentum up! I constantly battle with whether I should splurge on myself more, now that my student loans are paid off, or continue with the same momentum as before and build up my house downpayment fund. Emergency fund is fully funded. Thanks for reminding me I should stay focused. Do you give yourself a certain amount for entertainment each month, so you don’t feel deprived?

    1. Hi Debt Man! Thanks for stopping by! Congrats on getting your student loans paid off.
      Two part answer: 1) I don’t have an entertainment budget, but I’m THE BEST at finding excellent free or cheap entertainment. I never feel deprived in the entertainment world. I seem to find so much that is cheap or free that I don’t have time for expensive entertainment. Check out your local area for what’s going on.
      2) It sounds like you need a break. Maybe take a month or a paycheck and relax. It sounds like you are financially focused, so I’m not concerned that you’ll go on a spending bender. I would bet (but of course I never bet) that some temporary wiggle room in your budget will go a long way toward keeping you focused.

      I’ve found that most of my motivation comes from the fact that while I have a small budget, I am not deprived. The world is at my fingertips. If you tell yourself that you are deprived, you’ll feel deprived. If you tell yourself that you have more than most, you’ll be grateful for what you have.

  4. O_O; Those are hungry looking iguanas. O_O;;

    And wow. So much has changed in the last two years for you. Can’t wait to see your numbers for next year! 😉 So happy holidays and happy new year. May the season bring you much joy and prosperity. 🙂

  5. I thought I had commented on this one, but just looked back and… no. Sorry! I have a comedy problem too — just so you know you’re not the only one. 🙂 More great progress in November. Looking forward to seeing what you’ll accomplish in 2016!

    1. Comedy problems are the best! And the worst. Hubs and I went so often last year, we know most of the local comic’s routines by heart. We’re taking a break and giving them a year to write new material.
      I’m looking forward to 2016 too! A whole year of saving and no student loans 😀

Leave a Reply

