2015 Goals in Review

I’m long overdue for a goal review. Back in February, I wrote down a bunch of goals. I haven’t checked in with them over the year as I planned. At this point, I’m pretty happy about that because so much of my success is from momentum. I didn’t have to remind myself of these goals. They’ve just become what I wanted and what I worked for. Well, except for the first one. I still need to work on the first one. Let’s get that one out of the way
Here are the goals I had for the year and how I did.

Life Goals

1. Lose 40 lbs. 

I made this priority number one for the year and unfortunately, life had other plans. I am happy to report that I’ve adopted a solid set of eating guidelines that are continually fine tuned, however I had two major physical set backs for the year.
Life is always busy and unfortunately, it seemed to get busiest when I was the healthiest leading to not as much gym time as I need. In June, I blew out both my knees, one worse than the other. I limped around for 2 months followed by 1 month easing back into things. I had no stability, and quite frankly, I was scared so I didn’t push myself when I could have. Most of this is behind me, though I officially have my first lingering injury.
My second major injury was dislocating my sternum. Twice. Weird, right? It happened in yoga because yoga is a high impact sport and then again in the shower. Reaching for the shampoo is dangerous! I’m 3 months out from this injury and things are nearly normal again. However, its so frustrating to have another injury that makes me second guess my movements. I want confidence in my physical activity!
Overall, my weight is flat for the year. With everything going on, I should take that as a blessing. It could be a lot worse.

2. Complete 3 Races

Done! I was able to run the first pre-injury and walked the second and third. Hubs joined me and we turned it into chatting time. I don’t expect to be able to run again. In fact, my orthopedic doctor specifically told me not to. Stupid knees and hips being angled all funny.

3. Read 12 Books

ALMOST! I recorded reading 11 books this year. Most of my reading ended up being money focused. My life seems to be money focused so that makes sense that I would want to read about it.

4. Hustle into $1000

HEY!! I didn’t think I made this, but I hadn’t tallied it all up. When dollars are trickling in from various sources, its hard to see how much it actually is.
Passsssss
Main hustle: $710
UserTesting: $180
Bing: $60 Click here to sign up! (Referral link)
Swagbucks: $60 Click here to sign up! (Referral link)
New savings account opening bonus: $50
Money I found on the ground: $0.33 since September.
Gift card I found: $33.26
Those last two don’t really count as hustling since all I had to do was pick them up, but even still! This brings my hustle money to $1093.59

5. See the Caribbean and Florida

Yes! I’m writing a Vacation Budget Post along with some fancy photos. We cashed flowed most of the trip and by cash flow, I mean used the credit card float. I won’t pay any interest on these memories, but it’ll take until Jan 22 to pay it all off.

Money Goals

1. Increase my Net Worth by $100/day.

Yes! When I set this goal, I was apprehensive. I used phrases like ‘I might just get there” and “I’m going to try” Well, I knocked this one out of the park. I had help from Hubs’ contributions to the House Fund. Without that, I wouldn’t have been able to get here on my own income. However, we completely joined finances earlier this year, so there isn’t His money and Her money anymore. Its our money. What I tracked in Our Money online in this little blog increased by more than $100/day or $36,500 for the year and that is quite a victory!

2. Max out my Roth IRA

Yes! I maxed out my 2014 Roth in January and contributed for 2015 over the year. I took advantage of a few downturns and threw a little extra in the market to lower my bi-weekly contributions. Those little opportunities probably won’t make much of a difference. Heck, I was only throwing in an extra $100-200. But they sure made me feel like I was participating in the action! I’m excited to get started on my 2016 Roth now that it’s January!.

3. Finish my Student Loans

Yes! On March 27, 2015, in the early hours of the morning, I sent my final payment. I’m still having a hard time believing that these are gone. It’s real though. I put it on my Christmas Card. You can’t lie on your Christmas Card. That’s a life rule.

4. Save $17,000 for a Down Payment

Yes! AND exactly!  I played with the numbers on payday/ New Year’s Eve and I was $120 short of hitting $17,000 for the year. Then I remembered that due to my fancy rent negotiating skillz, my January rent will be $200 cheaper that normal and I mistakenly set aside the full amount. To play it safe, I only took the $120 I needed to make it to $17,000. My goal setting skillz on this one are quite accurate. I never expect to be so accurate again.
Due to measly interest, I’ll be over by a few bucks. Those are victory dance dollars. I will celebrate every one of them!

5. Leave my car loan alone.

Yes! I did, I did! It has been set up on autopayment for the entire year and not once have I made an extra payment. My brain still plays with the idea of paying it off early, but at 1% interest AND with the house fund earning more interest per month than the loan accrues, I cannot and will not pay this loan off early.
There it is folks. My 2015 goal update. I had a lot of money wins and what felt like constant physical set backs. Overall, a productive year. I’m excited to see what 2016 holds.

Did you set any goals in 2015? Did you accomplish them? I would love to celebrate with you!

16 comments

    1. Thanks Maggie! You may openly adopt my net worth increase per day goal! I got it from Bridget @ Money After Graduation. It’s a fun new way to look at net worth increases 🙂

  1. Wohoo! I think that is damn close to perfect on the year! Weight is hard, especially when you’re working full-time, have injuries (thank you for the warning about reaching for the shampoo!), and are trying to figure out food challenges. But on balance, I still think you had an awesome year, and I’m glad you’re celebrating that! Here’s to bigger and better things in 2016!

    1. Thanks Friend! It really was a good year. Even with the health challenges, I faced them and didn’t quit. That alone says a lot.
      This growing up thing is kind of fun when you are responsible about it. 🙂

  2. Wow, amazing job this year, Kate! I’m sorry to hear about the injuries, but it sounds like you’ve made some serious progress in terms of finances and book reading and traveling and racing. Congrats!
    My goals for 2015 were: to write down every single purchase in a spreadsheet, down to the exact penny, and to finish my dissertation. Both of which I did — wahoo! 🙂

    1. Thanks Sarah! Though for some reason, my brain keeps for getting your first name. I get the middle name but not the first name, so I nearly typed ‘Thanks Yachtless!” Silly me!
      I like your expense tracking goal. I’ve been trying to track my spending for something like 5 years now, and I have yet to capture all the expenses. Brava to you! And of course an extra brava for your dissertation!

  3. I’m so sorry to hear about your injuries… that can really set you back… but it seems that you have kicked butt on all your other goals, so well done! I’m impressed! I reviewed my goals last week… I am happy with my results overall. Lots to work on in 2016. Here’s to our best year ever!

  4. Awesome job on your goals! Can’t wait to see what 2016 has in store for you. Increased fitness and weight loss is on our list as well.

  5. Ugh, sorry to hear about your running injuries. I’ve been wearing a knee brace whenever I do anything more strenuous than walk (and like an intense Forrest-Gumpish one at that) since high school from a skiing accident. It’s really obnoxious to not be able to trust your own body anymore. Congrats on finishing 3 races though!

  6. Awesome, sounds like you nailed your financial goals which is so important. You know you’re good with money when you have to make a goal NOT to pay off your car loan. haha. You are totally right since you are making more in investments than you’re paying in interest but I would also understand the urge to just get rid of it 🙂

Leave a Reply

