January 2016 Net Worth Update

January went by quick. It went by so quick, I thought I had already posted this. Whoops! Late or on time, I don’t want to miss a month!

If there was a theme to the month, it would be gifts, but not in the traditional sense.

First, my sweet baby puppy doggie celebrated his 12th birthday at the beginning of the month. He’s the sweetest little boy and he fills my heart with joy. As my gift to you, here’s a picture of the little angel.

Loungin' with the blanket I made him

Second, I got the best gift I’ve received in as long as I can remember. Someone at work anonymously gave me the screenplay for Good Will Hunting. The movie is one of my favorites. I can’t recall speaking to anyone about my love for GWH, but I’m excited to read it! Fun fact: I spent an impromptu weekend in Boston in 2010 and finding THE bench was near the top of my to do list!.

Finally, I got 2 gifts for my retirement! My employer 401k match hit my account this month AND I gave myself the gift of a richer retirement. January marked the beginning of my time as a 401k maxer. It has been a bit of an adjustment getting used to the smaller paychecks, but that’s a price I’m willing to pay. The money would have been saved anyway, so the only place I may fall short is the House Fund, but that’s a fair trade off.

Let’s get into it!

[flashback]

January 2015: I owed $6,340 on my student loans, knocking a whole $9,568 off my student loans by cashing out my original house fund.

January 2014: I started my job!! Woot! Fun fact: The high temperature on my first day of work was -27F or -32C. Yikes!

Screen Shot 2016-02-12 at 8.07.55 PM

Assets!

Retirement: $27,098 (+2,465)  January was a big month for my retirement! I MAXED MY 401k!! Even though the markets have continued their march to the sea, but I had help from increased 401k contributions and … drum roll please… My first 401k match!!  I have never been more excited for a few thousand dollars. With increased contributions and a boost from the match, I officially have $10,000 in my 401k. 

I also am officially vested in my company’s pension plan. I won’t be counting that amount here, but I have a tiny cash balance pension and that is fantastic!

Taxable: $8,269 (NC) No change but we know how the market is going. 

Auto Value: $12,699 (+$1,269)  I made a small mistake in my December numbers. I somehow forgot that my car was an EX and calculated the update as an LX. This makes me feel a lot better about my artificial $1600 drop in December. With this adjustment, my drop was only $331. 

House Fund: $19,155 (+2,146) January was an excellent beginning to 2016 house saving. After several months of sub-2000 saving months, I’m loving that this is over $2k again! It was also nice to make a big dent in Thing 2.

Round Two Progress: (What is Round Two? check here!)

  • Baby Saver: $2125 
  • Middle Saver: $7953 (Loan value: $5828) ✔
  • Thing 1: $16,453 (Loan value: $8500) 
  • Things 2: $24,953 (Loan value: $8500) >>In Progress<<
    • JOY! $19,155 saved, $5,798 to go!
  • Big Momma: $45,330 (Loan value: $20,377)

HSA: $5,474 (-29)  I’m all caught up with my medical bills! Hooray! With that bill paid and an invested HSA riding the market, I am down by a little month. January was an exciting time because after 5 months, I finally was able to re-check the box to automatically sweep my contributions from my savings account to the investment account. This is exciting. 

Car Fund: $401 (+50) Another month down and I didn’t take any money from this account. I call that a win! 

Liabilities!

Student Loan: $0! Happy 10 months student loan free to me!

Car Loan: $8,347 (-$376)  Slow and steady wins this race. 

Overall:

  • Net worth: $64,719. Up $6,277 from last month. 

WOWSERS!! What a month! I had a few tail winds helping this SIX THOUSAND dollar increase this month. House Funds and 401k matches and a falsely calculated car value got me here! However it happened, this is a hell of a wave into 2016.

8 comments

  1. You must have some kind of magical powers to have managed that big a jump in such a crappy market month — hooray for you! Keep using whatever spells made it happen. 🙂

    1. If by magical powers, you mean not having enough invested to sink my own ship, then by George! I am magical. My 401k match was well timed 🙂

      I keep waiting for a negative month. My day will come.

  2. Your dog is adorable! Also Good Will Hunting is amazing, really just everything in this post is excellent. You go glen coco!

Leave a Reply

