March 2016 Net Worth

APRIL!!

I am so excited to report how fantastical March was.

First, I have officially been student loan free for 1 whole year! Happy Student Loan Free anniversary to me! Here are four things I’ve learned over the last year about living without student loans.

Second, I really want to go on vacation, specifically to Europe. Over March, I had two harsh reminders that my passport hasn’t been stamped in a while. I had an England Reunion early in the month and that always brings back travel feelings. Toward the end of the month, my baby sister spent 10 days in Italy. I offered to crash diet to fit into her suitcase and she didn’t even entertain the idea. HOW DARE SHE!?!? I need to plan something. Hubs and I are getting ancy. Do you have any travel destination ideas in flyover country?

Third, Hubs and I embarked on our journey into a new hobby: Hiking! March was a roller coaster of weather. Beautiful days, rainy days, snowy days:  things got muddy. Inspired by the mud, we decided it was finally time to level up to pro-level. We cashed in LL Bean gift cards and got fancy pants hiking shoes. Let the hiking begin!

[Flashback!]

March 2015:  Let me shout it again from the mountain top… I PAID OFF MY STUDENT LOANS! I also went to my first hockey game.

March 2014: My calendar is empty, with one beautiful exception. Apostle Island Ice Caves anyone?
IMG_8016

March 2016: The Markets are Back!

Screen Shot 2016-04-06 at 8.15.07 PM

Liabilities!

Something is suspiciously missing from here. Except its not suspicious! It’s been more than a year since I paid off my student loans.

Car Loan: $7,594 ($376)  Slow and steady progress with my 1% car loan.

Assets!

Retirement: $32,620(+3,472) A huge month! This is my first month where I could feel the wave of the markets. $1000 of this is pure market fluctuation in my IRA. Weeee! Also, I’m feeling incredibly responsible having more than $30k saved by the time I was 30! Saavvvvvvinnnngg!!

Taxable: $8,269 No change, but like the rest of the market, I’m sure its UP!

Auto Value: $12,369 (-150)  The depreciating asset keeps depreciating. 

House Fund: $26,140 (+2,054) Saving for the House keeps chugging along nicely. March was a roughly average saving month, but I passed 2 huge milestones! I officially have more than $25,000 saved AND I am officially in the final round of Round Two!

I have less than 100 days until Round Two is over. It is discouraging to face the largest loan last, but I will make the progress I make. I’m excited to see how far into the last loan I can get. Any predictions?

Round Two Progress: (What is Round Two? check here!)

  • Baby Saver: $2125 
  • Middle Saver: $7953 (Loan value: $5828) ✔
  • Thing 1: $16,453 (Loan value: $8500) 
  • Things 2: $24,953 (Loan value: $8500) 
  • Big Momma: $45,330 (Loan value: $20,377) >in progress<
    • $26,140 down, $19,190 to go!

HSA: $6,174 (+446)  More market growth! My chiropractor screwed up my billing from last October, so I received and paid a small bill to finish that off. I’m pretty pumped to see this over $6k, especially since I have been paying all my medical bills out of it. Growth is good. 

Car Fund: $501 (+50) I could buy tires! More likely, I’ll probably get the scheduled maintenance on my car. 

 

{Overall}

Net worth: $78,479. Up $6,248 from last month. 

A huge month!!! A lot of this due to the market ride and I am loving it. The best thing I can do at this point is keep throwing money in the market and let these swings get bigger and bigger and bigger.

It is pretty incredible to think that one year ago, my net worth was only $28,646. With the help of a lot of saving, and (finally) a little market magic, my net worth is up $50k in one year. I triple checked the numbers and I still can’t believe it. It’s been a great year financially. I’m excited to see what year 2 without student loans will bring.

How was your March?  Did you ride the glorious market wave this month? 

11 comments

  1. I look forward to the days where I can ride these glorious market waves you speak of. I didn’t even know they existed because I’m focused on getting out of debt right now. I hope April gives you the same thrill ride March did!

  2. So awesome Kate! Woohoo for 30K by 30, and for the huge March! Getting to ride the wave means that you’re doing it right. Can’t wait to see the upcoming pie charts. 🙂

  3. Well, I’m happy that I withdrew my Betterment money while the markets were up. That was a cool coincidence! 🙂

    An increase of $50K in one year is amazing! How cool to look back and see that amount of progress. It is amazing what a difference a year can make. I should spend more time focusing on my progress thus far as well, rather than just bemoaning all the stuff I didn’t do.

    1. You made money!

      You should 100% focus on your progress. Life is too short to beat yourself up about being in school forever (though I am totally guilty of it too). This is the life we have. No sense spending time on the things we cannot change.

  4. That’s amazing! That’s a huge jump in one month. My numbers went up in March about $3K. It’s not great though as I’m still down and hurting from previous months due to the markets.

  5. That is an astonishing net worth increase! You should be so proud of yourself! My numbers are growing around $2,500 – $3,000 per month, so you are almost lapping me. Awesome work!

Leave a Reply

