May 2016 Net Worth

May, May, May. My, my, my.

May was a bit surreal. I worked hard and played hard, but it all felt like play. Most of that was helped by the fact that I was never at my desk, or so it felt.

IMG_0690

I don’t typically travel for business, but apparently I do in May. I had two business trips, one was almost a week and the other was out and back in a day! I felt like a baller that my company would fly me to New York and back in a day, but then I felt like a sucker because that was an incredibly long day. It was even worse that I couldn’t find my car when I got back to the airport. Just me, wandering around in a parking ramp at 11pm at night. Embarrassing!

I was also away from my desk in May because May marks the beginning of my summer hustle. I kept my previous gig from last year and picked up another one. Between the two, my schedule is filling up! I even increased my rate for my new gig. This is how you hustle, right?

[Flashback!]

May 2015: I had a net worth of $36,022 and a mere $3500 in the House Fund. I started hustling!

May 2014: I owed $33,036 on my student loans.  {this is astonishing to me. I can’t believe I not only paid this off in a year, but had a few months to save on top of it!}

May 2013: I graduated from law school! Let studying for the Bar Exam begin.

May 2016: An almost there type of Month.

Screen Shot 2016-06-03 at 5.36.30 AM

Liabilities!

Car Loan: $6,840 ($377)  Let’s start with the only milestone of the month! My car loan is under $7000!!! Yippee! Skippy! I’ve been feeling anxious lately to pay it off. It might be a natural byproduct of being a debt destroyer. I’m not comfortable diverting cash to pay this off and as I’ve mentioned, the interest rate is awesome. I’ll have to settle for watching it drop $377/month.

Assets!

Retirement: $37,324(+2,502) May was a solid month for my retirement accounts. I made my contributions as scheduled and the market was kind. What’s frustrating is that I missed a milestone by thhhhaaaaatttt much. It’s not all about milestones, I know, I know. But I love them. They keep me motivated and moving forward. This month I missed 18,000 in my 401k by $52, and a part of me says harrumph. Harrumph, I say! In my IRA, I missed $20,000 by $624 which is almost a bi-weekly contribution. I can’t be mad about that. It’s all water under the bridge now though, because I’m writing this on payday and both accounts have been topped up. Woot! 🙂

I’ve got $40,000 lurking on the horizon. If the market is good, I could get there by June! I’ll try to be patient and expect July. If June happens, I’ll add extra exclamation points.

Taxable: $8,269 No change. I get to update this next month! I’ve checked in on the account and things are looking great! I may make up for 2 consecutive decreases!

Auto Value: $12,069 (-150)  The depreciating asset keeps depreciating.

House Fund: $29,419 (+770) Screeeeeech! May was a horrible month for the House Fund! In the history of this account, I have never had a month contribution less than $1000. I’m breaking records of the wrong kind. Oops.

This account is down for two reasons: 1) I’m diverting cash to the Travel Fund until after we get home from our trip. We leave in less than 3 weeks! I’m over funding that account to pay for this trip and to build it back to a $2000 cushion. You never know when the next adventure may strike, so I want to be ready, and 2) Way less exciting that 1, with my paycheck every 2 weeks and my credit card due monthly, my paychecks got out of sync with the bill. I paid 2 months’ worth of credit card bills this month so they don’t take me to debtor’s prison. I don’t want to go to debtor’s prison.

Round Two Progress: (What is Round Two? check here!)

  • Baby Saver: $2125 ✔
  • Middle Saver: $7953 (Loan value: $5828) ✔
  • Thing 1: $16,453 (Loan value: $8500) ✔
  • Things 2: $24,953 (Loan value: $8500) ✔
  • Big Momma: $45,330 (Loan value: $20,377) >in progress<
    • $29,419 down, $15,911 to go!

*I have just over a month until the end of Round 2. Only 2 paychecks left!!

HSA: $6,819 (+348)  A little bit of contributions, a little bit of market. I’ve got bills coming next month. The most exciting thing about this account is that I pay all of Hubs and my health expenses out of this account. I also am only able to contribute at the $3350 level with my HSA. That all is to say that even with all my grips about feet, backs and dislodging my sternum, we are pretty healthy people. A big Hallelujah to not needing any maintenance medication!

Car Fund: $602 (+50) I love the concept of this account, but it feels so silly to update.  $50 Woot! I’ve always had a less than 3 year old car, so the concept of necessary maintenance is foreign to me. I’m sure I will love this account when I need it, but right now it feels like a wasted line item.

{Overall}

Net worth: $87,662. Up $3,897 from last month. 

I’m teetering dangerously close to a pretty excellent round number. Not THEE round number, but a great round number nonetheless. This month really puts my progress over the last few months into perspective. Last month, with a gain of $5200, was my smallest increase of 2016. This month, I cut the legs off that with $3897. But $3897 is fine! It’s great! That’s more than I was able to put on my debt 2 years ago. Perspective, people. Perspective.

How was your May?  Are you hitting your milestones? 

15 comments

  1. I hope you aren’t disappointed by your increase this month. Even if it is your smallest increase this year, it is still an increase and it is still quite an impressive number.

    We have finally had an increase in our net worth this month. It makes me very happy! I’m sure it won’t last because we are going to start doing some renovations on our house and spending all our savings, but I’ll just bask in the glory of my increase for a little while. 🙂

    1. Don’t worry, I’m not disappointed. I know I’m making great progress and I know I’m doing my best. My only disappointment might be that I’ve been creeping closer and closer to $30k in the House Fund. I better get there! It seems like the numbers don’t want to turn over!

      Hooray for your increase! Even if it’s only short lived! Extra bonus- you have the savings to spend! I hear that’s the best way to renovate!

    1. HSAs are tricky. We have separate health insurance and I have self-only HDHP coverage. Thus, I’m only eligible to contribute the lower limit. Regardless of the coverage/contribution limit, HSA funds can be used to pay for dependent and spouse expenses. So while I can only contribute $3350 (self only), I can spend the money on the both of us.

      Tricky tricky.

  2. Great job this month, I get frustrated when I’m so close to a goal and have to wait another 30 days to watch it happen. Paying off debt is WAY more fun than saving, so I totally hear you there. Happy June!

    1. I won’t wait 30 days to watch it happen. I’ll log in early to see it happen! Hopefully, I won’t log in multiple times to watch it dance back and forth over the line. 😬 Happy June to you!

  3. Yay for the progress you’ve made thus far! Our May was a bit expensive, we were paying off some things from earlier in the year. I like the “this time last year” notes, that might be fun to include in monthly reports.

  4. I hope you’re having an awesome vacation! At the very least, I hope you’re not checking your account balances post-Brexit vote, because it can’t be pretty. (I’m not even looking — patting myself on the back for this new-found strength.) But yay for hitting some milestones right after May ended. 🙂

  5. Woo! Way to not go to debtor’s prison. And yay for a nearly round number! I’m excited to hit $75,000 soon, if the market ever cooperates again. I am hopeful that maybe I’ll get there before the end of the year.

Leave a Reply

