June 2016 Net Worth

Two net worth posts in a row? The shame.

I didn’t forget about you.

I didn’t quit blogging (well, I kind of did).

My head has been in a weird place lately and I haven’t wanted to write. Maybe I haven’t wanted to write because I didn’t have the time to do so. Maybe I couldn’t write because I didn’t have anything to say. I blame most of it on the fact that June was full.

June was full in so many ways. Starting at the back, we left for our trip to Australia at the end of June. Before that, I had to wrap pp as much as I could at work and present it with a bow to my boss. I probably didn’t have to do this, the trip was only two weeks, but it was an incredible kick in the butt to get stuff done. I took advantage of the motivation and got a lot of work done.  We also gave our apartment a good cleaning before we left. I love coming home to a clean house!

Screen Shot 2016-07-12 at 8.57.06 PM

June was also full of fun. There’s a cycling event in our area in June and Hubs and I look forward to it all year. We actually scheduled our trip around it! It did not disappoint. Now if only I could get into cycling myself!

We had a few other events to keep us busy and I spent some time crafting. I learned how to cross stitch and made my sister a little something. I’m also knitting up a shawl. I bought the yarn on my honeymoon in New Zealand 3.5 years ago. It felt right to knit it up while I was back down under!.

[Flashback!]

June 2015:  I had a net worth of $38,994. Greece was causing the markets to drop. I got honest with my numbers and dropped the value of my car.

June 2014: I owed $31,037 on my student loans.  I started maxing out my HSA and Hubs embarked on the long medical journey to fix his feet. (We’re still working on this. I hate that we are still working on this.)

June 2013: I bought my laptop and started studying for the Bar Exam. This was the beginning of the loneliest I’ve ever been in my whole life. Pro-tip: Don’t study for the Bar Exam alone.

June 2016: Brexit & a little savingsScreen Shot 2016-07-12 at 8.51.04 PM

Assets!

Retirement: $39,898 (+2,574) SO CLOSE! Normal contributions this month. I almost put in an extra $300 to capitalize on Brexit, but I didn’t want to deal with logging into Vanguard on my phone in another country to buy. I figured that might lock my account or something. Landing just shy of $40k,  I’m regretting that decision. All signs look like I’ll get there next month. I better get there next month!

Taxable: $9,179 (+910) A change! A change! And finally a good change ! I’ve had this account for over 10 years but I didn’t start paying attention to it until recently. Since I started tracking it, it’s bumbled below $8500. It’s nice to have it rocket out of there! Hello, $9000! 🙂

Auto Value: $11,919 (-150)  The depreciating asset keeps depreciating. 

House Fund: $30,086 (+667) Mixed emotions here. 1) Hooray!!!! Finally, $30k! It felt incredible to get over that hump. But 2) Only $667?? Have mercy! This is my second <$1000 month in a row and its a frustrating trend. Based on my average pace, getting from $25k to $30k took way too long. The travel fund is entirely to blame. I’m ready to get the trip paid for and move forward. I miss the big saving months!

HSA: $6,865 (+46) Hubs got new orthotics this month. Somehow, we managed to pay for those and sneak out a gain this monthI’m not quite sure how! The biggest piece of awesomeness for this is that I remembered to turn off the auto-sweep on the account before Hubs paid for them. Hooray for not selling investments! 

Car Fund: $652 (+50) I could buy tires! More likely, I’ll probably get the scheduled maintenance on my car. … I should get that scheduled maintenance on my car. 

Liabilities!

Car Loan: $6,463 ($377)  The progress is slow and steady here. Nothing to report. This is simply a minimum payment on a cheap loan.

{Overall}

Net worth: $92,136. Up $4,473 from last month. 

90! 90! 90! Did someone say 90? Oh, I did! Woooot! A huge milestone!! It’s not thee milestone, but that one is right around the corner.

Sometimes I can’t believe that I started this journey feeling like a left behind millennial.

How was your June?  Promise me you didn’t do anything crazy during Brexit!

8 comments

  1. I sold all my investments during the Brexit, then packed everything I owned into a knapsack because clearly the world is coming to an end.

    Kidding! Congrats on an excellent June! You’re sneaking up on a mighty big milestone!

  2. I bought a passel of stocks right before Brexit, and then had regret that I’d forgotten the date and bought MORE stocks during the drop. Yay for lowering my cost basis average? 😀

    And Australia? WOO awesome. That’s a dream vacation for us, one of these days, we’re going and I’m going to hug *something*. Probably I should choose something without mega-claws, though.

  3. Wohooooooo! You’re SO CLOSE to *THE BIG NUMBER.* I hope that “late start” feeling is starting to subside, because you are crushing it and things are growing fast! Also… pics! We need pics!

    1. So close!!! I know!! I should get there by August if the market behaves.

      I’m starting to get over my late start feeling. The numbers are helping that sink in. When I initially ran my numbers, I was hoping to only have my loans paid off by 30. In reality, I should have over 50k in investments by then. woot!

    1. I will. I’m technically not late yet with it. I have a maintenance minder on my car and the light comes on at 15% oil life left. However, I drive so little and had 2 weeks away, so its taken me months to get to 5%. I’m still not there yet!

Leave a Reply

